There Is A Light In Me

There is a light in me,

Now buried,

That was once so bright,

It made even the darkest of colors

Look like the first dew of spring

In bright sunlight.

Crafted with the finest

Strokes of honesty and bravery…

The light sparkling so bright

Held onto others with naive optimism;

Believing that the light in others was also

Made of the very same qualities.

But, oh! The felony of nature:

That what we desire is not necessarily

That which we need.

And thus, the light of others,

Overshadowed the light in me.

Making it look like the dullest

Of monsoon skies that could ever be.

The light of others painfully

Drained out the light in me,

And in this process

I forgot that,

There is a light in me

That was once so bright…

It made even the darkest of colors

Look like the first dew of spring

In bright sunlight.

 

Copyright, SnehalRawal 2016.

96 thoughts on “There Is A Light In Me

  1. Pingback: The Entertainer Blogger Award – redroseonasnowybench

  2. Pingback: erbiage

  3. Pingback: Little Lantern | erbiage

  4. Know that your writing is so beautiful that it makes “even the darkest of colors look like the first dew of spring, in bright sunlight” (if it makes any sense).

    I’m almost tearing, coz it’s so beautiful and I can so relate to it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! This is one of the most beautiful comments that I have read in a while. Yes, it does make sense. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. It makes me happy to be able to connect to others through my writing. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow… That is such an awesome poem. And so true we all start out as bright young things and slowly we are overshadowed by loved ones, colleagues and even strangers… We have to remember there is a light in all of us and let it shine!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Really loved this! So insightful and beautifully done! Kudos. I loved so many lines but especially these –
    “But, oh! The felony of nature:
    That what we desire is not necessarily
    That which we need.

    So,so true! Is this the seed of why “Love is Blind”? Come visit me? I think you might like “Rolling The Dice”. I am looking for to me following you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the comment. 🙂
      There is a very defined difference between ‘need’ and ‘want’. Glad you could relate to that bit. Often, we tend to blur this fine line of difference and get trapped, you know?
      I don’t know whether it is okay to say love is blind, sometimes it is full of beautiful colours too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think you are safe in saying, Love is Blind since everyone does – so much so that it ‘s a cliche – but also so true. I have been told that part of the reason for this is that “Being in Love” generates a chemical reaction in our brain caused by Dopamine. I think a person is so blessed if they are able to find their “Soulmate”. Sure changes some of your outlooks on love when you can get that.

        Like

      2. Yeh, I suppose so. But its dangerous to say that you can have only one soulmate in this lifetime. There are more than one, for sure. Some are gone before we know it, and some stick around.

        Like

  7. What a beautiful piece…. You have been so kind to like some of my pieces, and I finally found some time to check out your blog, and I am so very glad I did. This piece resonates with me, and another previous blogger was right, this piece alone is proof positive that you most certainly possess a most bright light.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

