Memories, not dreams.

” We are all a little lonely these days, aren’t we?”

Sometimes all you do is nothing. Life means nothing. Friends mean nothing. It’s as if the world moves on and on and on and you are right there exactly at that very same spot where you once began. Is this the way it’s meant to be? What you deserve, stays with you… but what about all those dreams and wishes you thought were only yours? It’s like crying out so loud, when nobody can hear you. And surprisingly, it is peaceful to shut yourself and feel nothing at all. It is safe. But, that doesn’t get you anywhere. There has to be some meaning in life, a voice, a purpose, a victory perhaps…? Hope, faith and patience is all that’s left. But, one fine day I hope there are answers… long, happy answers.

Isn’t it strange, how people live their entire lives hoping for that day to come, and never live to see it? In the end, what do they feel like? Is it disappointment of not living up to that day? Or happiness that at least they lived for a purpose..and then die celebrating it?

I think I’m in the latter part. But, there is sadness attached to it, too. You never get to know what you lived for all your long, tragic life. You never get to know ‘love’. You never know. And you die. Damn.

(P.S. Feel free to answer the questions above!)

Copyright Sevenstarhalo, 2015.

8 thoughts on “Memories, not dreams.

  1. Interesting piece. Struck a chord. Just posting to wish you good luck with chasing your dreams. Don’t give up on them! I’ve recently started chasing mine again, though it’ll be a long journey till I reach them. Think sometimes it’s easier not to: to just accept that this is it, make the most of it & eat cake. Sometimes you have to make big sacrifices to chase your dreams & part of me is afraid of what I’ll ultimately be giving up for the unknown. Think I’m more afraid of looking back on my death bed & wondering “What if?” though. By the way, thanks for liking a couple of my poems. Recently added another in a similar vein to those called “Staring at the Sun” that I’m turning into a song with a little help from my friends.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Most of the time you just keep sacrificing and nothing good ever comes out of it. I haven’t given up on my dreams, yet. I have worked for it like crazy! You know, when you want something truly, madly, deeply? I am just waiting for it to come true. I have done my bit.
      But, what if all the hard work never pays off? That way, I’ll end up having this huge regret all my life of starting it in the first place.
      I think you write really well & if writing helps you, then you should never stop doing it. All the best with the song, I would love to listen to it if possible! 🙂

      Like

  2. Yep, cycle of life. Although in my opinion the cycles keep changing.
    Would like to quote Charles Bukowski here,
    “the area dividing the brain and the soul
    is affected in many ways by
    experience-
    some lose all mind and become soul:
    insane.
    some lose all soul and become mind:
    intellectual.
    some lose both and become:
    accepted.”
    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

